Sample Letter to Connecticut's Public Health Committee

Source:  Sample Letter to Connecticut's Public Health Committee    Tag:  congenital cmv
The following is a sample letter you can send to the Connecticut Public Health Committee. It was drafted by  02/28/2014 Sara Doutre, who was instrumental in getting the State of Utah to pass a similar bill. I sent a similar letter to the top six members listed in the Public Health Committee. Here are their emails and names should you want to follow suit: Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov,  Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov, Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov,
prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov,
gerratana@senatedems.ct.gov, slossberg@senatedems.ct.gov

Dear Representatives Susan Johnson, Phillip Miller, Dr. Prasad Srinivasan, and Senators Jason Welch, Terry Gerratana and Gayle Slossberg,

SAMPLE LETTER:
Subject: HB 5147 – Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public Education Program 

 
Dear Member of the Public Health Committee [insert names whenever possible],

 

According to the CDC, congenital cytomegalovirus (CMV) causes more long-term problems and childhood deaths than Down syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, and neural tube defects. In the United States, congenital CMV causes one child to become disabled every hour. (see http://www.cdc.gov/cmv/index.html )

 

While most expectant mothers know about Down syndrome and other potential birth defects, only a small percentage (22% according to the CDC) know about CMV. expectant mothers and women who plan on having children should know about CMV. This bill creates an education program to make sure they and their physicians have the appropriate information about CMV.

CMV is preventable. With proper education, mothers can avoid passing it to their unborn children. The education and early identification proposed in HB 5147 will save Connecticut money by preventing the birth defects and disabilities caused by CMV.

[ Add a paragraph or two about your child or acquaintance with CMV or a link to your story (i.e. http://www.stopcmv.org/daisy_utah ). ]

 
Thank you,

Name

City, State

Legislative District(s) if in Connecticut
(FIND YOUR REPRESENTTIVE AND DISTRICTS AT: local representatives)